Staff

Office of Undergraduate Research Central Staff

Vicky Munro, Coordinator
(contact for general research/UROP , IUROP and URS assistance)
612-625-3853 
munro001@umn.edu

Heidi Fahning, UROP Graduate Assistant
(contact for URS assistance)
612-625-6939 
fahni021@umn.edu

Paul Siliciano, Director
pauls@umn.edu

 

College UROP Coordinators

For questions specific to your college, please contact your college UROP Coordinator listed below. These people are excellent resources for information on many things including finding a faculty mentor, writing a good proposal in your discipline, and opportunities to present your research results. For a list of specific UROP Coordinator responsibilites, click here.

University of Minnesota Twin Cities

College of Biological Sciences
Rebecca Diaz, Student Services
229 Snyder Hall
612-624-9717
rdiaz@umn.edu

Cross-Collegiate and University College
Joshua Borowicz, Director
Individualized Degrees, CCE
101 Wesbrook
(612) 624‑4000
borow001@tc.umn.edu

School of Dentistry
Joel Rudney, Professor
Diagnostic/Biological Sciences
17‑238 Moos Tower
(612) 624‑7199
jrudney@umn.edu

College of Design
Kate Maple, Assistant Dean
CDES Student Services
12 McNeal Hall
612-624-9764
kmaple@umn.edu

College of Education and Human Development
Nicole Shopbell
Undergraduate Education
131 Burton Hall
612-626-1632
wileb011@umn.edu

College of Food, Agricultural & Natural
Resource Sciences
Bill Ganzlin, Director
Student Services
190 Coffey Hall
(612) 624‑6768
ganzl001@umn.edu

College of Liberal Arts
Wendy Nicholson-Kotas, Coordinator
Individualized Degree Programs
30 Johnston Hall
(612) 624-8006
nicho421@umn.edu

Carlson School of Management
Theresa Taylor
Carlson Undergraduate Studies
1-105 CarlSMgmt Bldg
(612) 626‑7268
taylo041@umn.edu

School of Nursing
Ann Garwick
Office of Nursing Research
5-140C Weaver-Densford Hall
(612) 624‑1410
garwi001@umn.edu

College of Pharmacy
Earl Dunham, Associate Professor
Pharmacology
6-120 Jackson Hall
(612) 625‑7698

dunha002@umn.edu

College of Science and Engineering
Joseph Nieszner, Student Personnel
Coordinator
106 Lind Hall
(612) 624‑4513
nies0024@umn.edu

College of Veterinary Medicine
Mark Rutherford, Associate Professor
Veterinary Biosciences
295 Animal Science/Vet Med
612-625-4281
ruthe003@umn.edu

University of Minnesota Crookston

Barbara Keinath, Vice Chancellor
Academic Affairs
307 Selvig Hall
(218) 281-8341
bkeinath@umcrookston.edu

University of Minnesota Duluth

College of Liberal Arts
Olaf Kuhlke,  Associate Dean
UMD Liberal Arts Admin.
329 Cina Hall
218-726-7331
okuhlke@d.umn.edu

School of Business & Economics
Angie Soderberg
Internship Program Director
111P Labovitz School of Business & Economics
Building, (218) 726-6118
asoderb@d.umn.edu

College of Education & Human Service Professions
Fay Maas, Associate Professor, Psychology
117 Bohannon Hall
(218) 726-8338
fmaas@d.umn.edu

School of Fine Arts
Arden Weaver, Assistant Dean
212 Humanities Building
(218) 726‑8780
aweaver@d.umn.edu

College of Science & Engineering
Penelope Morton, Interim Dean
147 Engineering Building
(218) 726-7962
pmorton@d.umn.edu

Univeristy of Minnesota Mankato

Sylke Boyd, Assistant Professor
Physics
2315 Science
320-589-6315
sboyd@morris.umn.edu

University of Minnesota Rochester

Jenny Casper, Associate Administrator
300 University Square
R0869A
507-258-8242
jjcasper@r.umn.edu

Sheila Rainey, Exec. Admin. Spec.
300 University Square
R0869A
smrainey@r.umn.edu

Undergrad Research Advisory Board

The board is charged with focusing on expanding the opportunities for undergraduate research at all levels of the University. This includes but is not limited to advising the Office of Undergraduate Research and UROP, identifying new research opportunities and new faculty members willing to mentor undergraduates, enhancing the undergraduate research infrastructure, and promoting the Undergraduate Research Symposium.

Chairs

Robert B. McMaster, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education

Members

John Carlis, Computer Science and Engineering
Henry Carras, Undergraduate Student
Connor Clemenhagen, Undergraduate Student
Lucy Dunne, Design, Housing, and Apparel
David Feinberg, Art
Jonathan Gewirtz, Psychology
Thomas Hoye, Chemistry
Claudia Neuhauser, Office of Informatics Institute
Paul Siliciano, Director of Undergraduate Research
Vicky Munro, UROP Coordinator, ex-officio